Press release for immediate distribution

Richard Bona,

7th winner of the Antonio Carlos Jobim Award

Montreal, Thursday, July 1, 2010 - Cameroon-born Richard Bona, world renowned bassist and songwriter, will be honoured today by the Festival International de Jazz de Montréal with the Antonio Carlos Jobim Award. The prize will be presented to him by André Ménard, artistic director and cofounder of the Festival, during a press conference to be held today at 3 p.m. at the Salle Stevie Wonder of the Maison du Festival Rio Tinto Alcan (305, Ste. Catherine St. West, 2nd floor), as well as at the artist’s concert, The Ten Shades of Blues, -tomorrow evening, July 2, 6 p.m., Théâtre Maisonneuve, PdA (En voix Rio Tinto Alcan series).

Richard Bona is the 7th recipient of the Antonio Carlos Jobim Award, created for the Festival’s 25th anniversary to honour artists distinguished in the field of world music whose influence on the evolution of jazz and cultural crossover is widely recognized.

Armed with his bass, Richard Bona won swift entry to the most prestigious of musical circles: Salif Keita, Harry Belafonte, Mike Stern, Pat Metheny, Bobby McFerrin, Branford Marsalis… After he recorded his first solo albums, Scenes From My Life (1999), Reverence (2001) and Munia:The Tale (2003), Newsweek wrote : “It’s not cool to be impressed by the latest whiz kid to hit town. But even the hippest of the hip give it up when the subject turns to Richard Bona.” In 2007, one year after the release of his 4th solo album, Tiki, he would deliver a most memorable series of shows at the Festival in the Invitation series-and will be welcomed back this year as MAnu Katché’s special guest. Routinely recognized as the most expert of musicians, Bona is an equally impressive composer, ingeniously blending the rhythms of his native land with those of jazz, imbuing the whole with a lyrical, reflective quality that is sensitive, touching and very personal.

As winner of the Antonio Carlos Jobim Award, Richard Bona follows in the footsteps of Toots & The Maytals (2009), Gilberto Gill (2008), Angélique Kidjo (2007), Salif Keita (2006), Khaled (2005) and Ibrahim Ferrer (2004).

- 30 -

These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google