Press release for immediate distribution

Dave Young,

winner of the Oscar Peterson Award

Montreal, Saturday, July 5, 2008 - The Festival International de Jazz de Montréal is proud to announce the awarding of the 2008 Oscar Peterson Award to Canadian double bassist Dave Young. He will be given the award by Oscar Peterson’s wife and daughter, Kelly and Celine Peterson, and by Oliver Jones and Alain Simard at the closing concert of this 29th edition, Saturday, July 5th, 7:30 p.m., at the Salle Wilfrid‑Pelletier at Place des Arts, as part of the Justin Time label 25th anniversary party.

Dave Young is the 20th artist to receive the Oscar Peterson Award, which was created during the Festival’s 10th edition in 1989 to honour Canadian musicians for the quality of their art and their outstanding contributions to the evolution of jazz in this country.

The rich and diverse musical history of double bassist Dave Young features a litany of important collaborations with the greatest names in jazz, including Cedar Walton, Tommy Flanagan, Ellis Marsalis, Cyrus Chestnut, Oliver Jones and especially his friend Oscar Peterson (from 1975 to 1995). His graceful and moderate swing has always offered ample testimony of an abundance of musical and artistic gifts. During the ’60s and ’70s, he performed in Toronto cabarets, with the Edmonton and Winnipeg Symphony orchestras, and with the Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra. His warm tone, agility, impeccable intonation and aptitude for swing illustrate a flexible talent and capacity to embrace a large stylistic range of jazz. His twin careers as a classical musician and jazzman have taken him around the world, forging an international reputation with his bow.

As a laureate of the Oscar Peterson Award, Dave Young follows in the footsteps of François Bourassa (2007), Yannick Rieu (2006), Bernard Primeau (2005), Diana Krall (2004), Kenny Wheeler (2003), Lorraine Desmarais (2002), Moe Kofman (2001), Charles Biddle (2000), Maynard Ferguson (1999), Guy Nadon (1998), Rob McConnell (1997), Nelson Symonds (1996), Michel Donato (1995), Paul Bley (1994), Fraser MacPherson (1993), Vic Vogel (1992), UZEB (1991), Oliver Jones (1990) and, of course, Oscar Peterson (1989).

- 30 -

These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google