Press release for immediate distribution

Stanley Clarke

Winner of the Miles Davis Award

Montreal, Sunday, June 26, 2011 - The Festival International de Jazz de Montréal this year offers the prestigious Miles Davis Award to bass legend Stanley Clarke. He will be given the award on stage by Alain Simard, president and founder of the Festival, at the concert Return to Forever IV featuring Chick Corea, Stanley Clarke, Lenny White, Jean Luc Ponty and Frank Gambale, tonight at 8 p.m. at the Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier at Place des Arts as part of the Événements spéciaux series.

Stanley Clarke single-handedly led the “bass revolution” of the ’70s, bringing the instrument to the height of respectability and paving the way for its use by soloists. Among his many accomplishments, Clarke is credited with pioneering the slap technique and inventing two new instruments: the piccolo bass and the tenor bass. His incredible mastery on both electric and acoustic bass and his creativity have been recognized with an array of Grammys, Emmys, gold and platinum albums, and rankings among the world’s best bassists, etc. The first bassist to headline international tours, he was sought out by the likes of Jeff Beck, Ronnie Wood and Keith Richards for numerous projects. To celebrate this prodigious talent, famed luthier Alembic even produced a signature bass model in his name. Always seeking new avenues to explore, Clarke is also a composer, arranger, bandleader and performer of film scores, including Boys N the Hood and What’s Love Got to Do With It. A polyglot artist, equally fluent in electric and acoustic jazz, with an unparalleled skill, Clarke had already been proclaimed a legend by the age of 25, and remains an exceptional talent! Return to Forever IV featuring Chick Corea, Stanley Clarke, Lenny White, JeanLuc Ponty and Frank Gambale, June 26, 8 p.m., Salle WilfridPelletier, PdA (Les Événements spéciaux TD series.

Stanley Clarke will be the 18th recipient of the Miles Davis Award, created for our 15th anniversary in 1994 to honour a great international jazz musician for the entire body of his or her work and for that musician’s influence in regenerating the jazz idiom. The bronze statuette was created from a self-portrait by Miles, sketched for the Festival poster in 1988.

Stanley Clarke is the latest in a series of Miles Davis prizewinners. He follows Sonny Rollins (2010), Ornette Coleman (2009), McCoy Tyner (2008), Mike Stern (2007), Brad Mehldau (2006), Dave Holland (2005), Keith Jarrett (2004), Joe Zawinul (2003), Chick Corea (2002), Michael Brecker (2001), Charlie Haden (2000), Cassandra Wilson (1999), John Scofield (1998), Herbie Hancock (1997), Wayne Shorter (1996), Pat Metheny (1995) and John McLaughlin (1994). Please note that Dave Brubeck was also presented with a special-issue Miles Davis Award last year in recognition of the entirety of his career.

- 30 -

These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google