Press release for immediate distribution

Liza Minnelli

Winner of the 2012 Ella Fitzgerald Award

Montreal, Thursday, July 5, 2012 - The Festival International de Jazz de Montréal is glad to present the Ella Fitzgerald Award to Liza Minnelli, for her extraordinary contribution to contemporary jazz vocals. She will be given the award on stage by Alain Simard, president and founder of the Festival, at her concert tonight at 7:30 p.m. at the Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier, PdA, as part of the Événements spéciaux TD series.

Liza Minnelli is the 14th winner of the Ella Fitzgerald Award. The Festival created the award for its 20th anniversary in 1999, annually conferring it upon a jazz singer of significant talent who has had a major impact and influence in the international scene.

Liza Minnelli is nothing short of a legend, a genuine global Superstar who has left her mark on music, TV and film as well as, of course, Broadway. Oscar winner for Best Actress for her role in Bob Fosse’s Cabaret, unforgettable in Martin Scorsese’s New York, New York, the artist who made her debut while still in the cradle is today one of those rare artists whose avalanche of prizes includes the most distinguished awards presented in all forms of performance, with 4 Tony Awards, an Oscar, a special “Legends” Grammy, 2 Golden Globes and an Emmy. Renowned for her unforgettable concerts, the theatrical and flamboyant Minnelli unveiled, in her latest album, Confessions, released in 2010, a more intimate, revealing side, proving she still excels in any and all musical forms. With a live legacy of literally decades of automatic sellouts, Liza Minnelli finally brings us the priceless pleasure of her presence: from New York, New York to Montreal, at last! Liza Minnelli, Confessions, July 5 at 7:30 pm, Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier of the Place des Arts (Événements spéciaux TD series).

In accepting the prize, Liza Minnelli will be following previous Ella Fitzgerald prizewinners Sade (2011), The Manhattan Transfer (2010), John Pizzarelli (2009), Aretha Franklin (2008), Harry Connick, Jr., (2007), Etta James (2006), Al Jarreau (2005) Tony Bennett (2004), Bobby McFerrin (2003), Dianne Reeves (2002), Diana Krall (2001), Dee Dee Bridgewater (2000) and Diane Schuur (1999).

- 30 -

These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google