Press release for immediate distribution

Béla Fleck and the Flecktones Winner of the Miles Davis Award

Montreal, Sunday, July 3, 2016 — The Festival International de Jazz de Montréal presented by TD Bank Group in collaboration with Rio Tinto presents this year’s Miles Davis Award to Béla Fleck and the Flecktones. The trophy will be presented to them by André Ménard, Vice-president and cofounder of the Festival at a press conference hosted by NicolasTittley which will be held today at 2 p.m. in the Salle Stevie Wonder of the Maison du Festival, as well as tonight on stage at 8:00 p.m. just before the concert.

Bela Fleck

Béla Fleck and the Flecktones will be the 25th recipientof the Miles Davis Award, created for our 15th anniversary in 1994 to honour a great international jazz musician for the entire body of his or her work and for that musician’s influence in regenerating the jazz idiom. The bronze statuette was created from a self-portrait by Miles, sketched for the Festival poster in 1988.

Formed in 1988, the quartet of Béla Fleck (banjo), Victor Wooten (bass), Futureman (drums) and Howard Levy (piano, harmonica) has won six Grammy Awards, toured the world and released ten albums selling millions of copies. Renowned for their bottomless creativity, fiery concerts and a unique style steeped in jazz, classical music, bluegrass, African music, electric blues and even East European folk, Béla Fleck and the Flecktones rank as one of the most innovative groups on the global music scene, challenging the limits of jazz and driving the music off the beaten track.

Béla Fleck and the Flecktones. Opening act: Delvon Lamarr Organ Trio. July 1st, Théâtre Maisonneuve, PdA, 8 p.m. (Les Grands concerts Rio Tinto series).

Béla Fleck and the Flecktones follows Jack DeJohnette (2017), Kenny Barron (2016), Al Di Meola (2015), Terence Blanchard (2014), Charles Lloyd (2013), Ron Carter (2012), Stanley Clarke (2011), Sonny Rollins (2010), Ornette Coleman (2009), McCoy Tyner (2008), Mike Stern (2007), Brad Mehldau (2006), Dave Holland (2005), Keith Jarrett (2004), Joe Zawinul (2003), Chick Corea (2002), Michael Brecker (2001), Charlie Haden (2000), Cassandra Wilson (1999), John Scofield (1998), Herbie Hancock (1997), Wayne Shorter (1996), Pat Metheny (1995) and John McLaughlin (1994).