Press release for immediate distribution

Holly Cole Winner of the 2013 Ella Fitzgerald Award

Montreal, Friday, June 28, 2013 — The Festival International de Jazz de Montréal is glad to present the Ella Fitzgerald Award to Holly Cole, for her extraordinary contribution to contemporary jazz vocals. The award will be presented to her on stage by André Ménard, artistic director and co-founder of the Festival, during her concert tonight at 8 p.m. in Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, as part of the Tout en voix series.

Holly Cole is the 15th winner of the Ella Fitzgerald Award. The Festival created the award for its 20th anniversary in 1999, annually conferring it upon a jazz singer of significant talent who has had a major impact and influence in the international scene.

Holly Cole grew up in the Maritimes in a family of musicians. As a teenager, she discovered the grand ladies of jazz: Nina Simone, Anita O’Day and Billie Holiday. In 1983, the budding artist moved to Toronto. Hooking up with bassist David Piltch and pianist Aaron Davis, she formed the Holly Cole Trio. Signed by Alert Records, the group launched the Girl Talk album in 1990. With the success of Blame It on My Youth (1992), Cole rocketed to international popularity. There followed an array of varied albums: Don’t Smoke in Bed (1993) featuring the hit single I Can See Clearly Now, Dark Dear Heart (1997), Shade (2003) and a self-titled release (2007) featuring one of her own originals for the first time.

A passionate purveyor of jazz and pop, Holly Cole is renowned for her interpretive talents―she has no equal when it comes to taking songs by artists as varied as Elvis Costello, Joni Mitchell, Tom Waits, Jacques Brel or even the Beatles and making them her own. Over the course of a prolific 30-year career, Miss Cole has cast her spell over the Festival audience many times. Back after her remarkable performance in Théâtre Maisonneuve two years ago, she presents her most recent album, Night. Holly Cole, June 27, 28 and 29 at 8 p.m. in Théâtre du Nouveau Monde (Tout en voix series).

In accepting the prize, Holly Cole will be following previous Ella Fitzgerald prizewinners Liza Minnelli (2012), Sade (2011), The Manhattan Transfer (2010), John Pizzarelli (2009), Aretha Franklin (2008), Harry Connick, Jr., (2007), Etta James (2006), Al Jarreau (2005) Tony Bennett (2004), Bobby McFerrin (2003), Dianne Reeves (2002), Diana Krall (2001), Dee Dee Bridgewater (2000) and Diane Schuur (1999).

— 30 —