Press release for immediate distribution

Ron Di Lauro receives the Oscar Peterson Award

Montreal, Friday, July 4, 2014 — Extraordinary trumpeter Ron Di Lauro is the winner of the 2014 Oscar Peterson Award. The Award will be presented to him by André Ménard, artistic director and co-founder of the Festival, at a press conference which will be held today at 1:30 p.m. in the Salle Stevie Wonder of the Maison du Festival Rio Tinto Alcan, and by Vic Vogel on stage, Sunday at 6 pm, before Mr. Di Lauro’s concert in L’Astral as part of the TD Jazz d’ici La Presse+ series.

Ron Di Lauro is the 26th artist to receive the Oscar Peterson Award, created on the 10th anniversary of the Festival in 1989 to salute a Canadian musician who has made outstanding contributions to jazz in this country and for the quality of his art.

Working at the heart of the national jazz scene for over 30 years, Montreal trumpeter Ron Di Lauro has made his name for both his versatility and technical mastery: from jazz to classical, stage musicals to klezmer, he is adept in all styles and now ranks among the most in-demand trumpeters in Québec. Raised on music from an early age, Di Lauro followed in the footsteps of his father and grandfather in taking on a career in music. From his teenaged years, he made his stage debut playing the bugle in a production of Carmen staged by his high school. He moved on to McGill University to refine his musical understanding and pursue his studies in classical trumpet. He turned towards jazz in 1980 with Vic Vogel’s Big Band, a collaboration that took him all the way to Europe, before forming a sextet with Dave Turner. In addition to his frequent recording and touring, the trumpeter has accompanied an array of renowned artists, including Dizzy Gillespie, Aretha Franklin, Tony Bennett, Oliver Jones, Petula Clark, Céline Dion, Ginette Reno, Gino Vannelli, Diane Dufresne and Michael Bolton. As a soloist, he’s often performed with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, the Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal, the Orchestre symphonique de Québec and the Orchestre de Laval, and has been heard on radio, television and in film. He also teaches music at McGill University, UQAM and Université de Montréal. This year, the Festival regular returns with his tribute to the legendary Miles Davis album, Kind of Blue, hailed by fans in its first performance two years ago. Ron Di Lauro, Kind of Blue, July 6, 6 p.m., L’Astral (TD Jazz d’ici La Presse+ series).

As recipient of the Oscar Peterson Award, Ron Di Lauro follows in the footsteps of Alain Caron (2013), Peter Appleyard (2012), Jean-Pierre Zanella (2011), Don Thompson (2010), Susie Arioli (2009), Dave Young (2008), François Bourassa (2007), Yannick Rieu (2006), Bernard Primeau (2005), Diana Krall (2004), Kenny Wheeler (2003), Lorraine Desmarais (2002), Moe Kofman (2001), Charles Biddle (2000), Maynard Ferguson (1999), Guy Nadon (1998), Rob McConnell (1997), Nelson Symonds (1996), Michel Donato (1995), Paul Bley (1994), Fraser MacPherson (1993), Vic Vogel (1992), UZEB (1991), Oliver Jones (1990) and, of course, Oscar Peterson (1989).

— 30 —